immagine di copertina


Janet Yang

Hollywood Producer; Founder and President of Janet Yang Productions; Governor, Motion Picture Academy

foto Janet Yang

A Golden Globe and Emmy Award-winning Hollywood producer, Janet Yang also sits on the Board of Governors of the Motion Picture Academy and chairs its Membership and Governance Committee.

Yang came to prominence through her collaboration with Steven Spielberg on Empire of the Sun.  That was followed by a long partnership with multiple Academy Award-winner Oliver Stone—where she served as Executive Producer on the iconic The Joy Luck Club, and as a Producer on the Golden Globe-winning The People vs. Larry Flynt

Among her many other credits are: the Sundance award-winning Dark Matter with Meryl Streep; The Weight of Water directed by Academy Award winner Kathryn Bigelow; Fox’s High Crimes with Morgan Freeman; a Chinese adaptation of the Disney franchise High School Musical; cult favorites Zero Effect by Jake Kasdan and Shanghai Calling with China Film Group, and most recently, the Academy Award-nominated animated feature Over the Moon for Netflix. 

Yang has been named one of the “50 Most Powerful Women in Hollywood” by the Hollywood Reporter.

Yang began her career by running the first distribution company to market Chinese films into North America.  She also brokered the reintroduction of American studio films to the Chinese marketplace after a decades-long hiatus. 

Committed to fostering global understanding, Yang has been a long-standing member of the Committee of 100, an organization of the most prominent Chinese-Americans; an advisory board member of Asia Society Southern California where she also chairs its highly regarded U.S.-ASIA ENTERTAINMENT SUMMIT; and co-founder of Gold House, the non-profit collective of the most influential Asian cultural leaders. 

Yang has been featured on numerous national and global media outlets. Fluent in Mandarin Chinese, Yang holds a B.A. from Brown University and an M.B.A. from Columbia University. She was also appointed as a Presidential Fellow at Loyola Marymount University.

For more information, please see: